turners log,

Hours 15-20 of practice between centers.

In order of creation, left to right; maple, poplar, mahogany, lilac, and maple x3. The last three are all from a maple planted just after the civil war.

The poplar & last piece of maple were the easiest to turn by far. The lilac was my favorite, cut glass smooth, no sanding necc.

The second from right was my first attempt at multiple centers. Gonna try that some more, but not without a design to work from. While there is some asymmetry to the piece, it isn’t as pronounced as I thought it would be.

Ok… Enough free-form, cover my mistakes as I go practice,… Time to start (practicing) turning designs on purpose. Unless I risk ending up with the weirdest free-form large chess set.

Leave a Reply

